≡ Menu

The Oaks Tiny House Village in Florida (Preview)


This is a little preview of The Oaks Tiny House Village in Florida near Tampa which is under development and will be opening soon. To be the first to know when it opens, be sure to register your information with them on their website.

The Oaks tiny house community is the second phase of the Tampa Bay ESCAPE Tiny House Village in Thonotosassa, Florida, which we’ve posted about before right here but we’re excited to announce an update to give you a bit of a preview of what the second phase of the community will be like. It’s still under construction, and the Palm Court area of the community is set to be finished first.

Don’t miss other important updates on tiny house communities and developments like this, join our FREE Tiny House Newsletter for more! 

The Oaks Escape Tampa Bay Tiny House Village

The Oaks Tiny House Village in Florida from Escape

Image © ESCAPE – The design is subject to change, but shows 23 new tiny homes being developed!

The cul-de-sac area, called Palm Court, will be the first section to open. As you may already know, the area labeled Village is already open but sold out.

Lot Number 1 Escape Vista XL Wide 001

The Village area of the community now sold out

Highlights

  • Design subject to change
  • Shows 23 new tiny homes being developed
  • All lots will be assigned appropriate Escape tiny houses
  • Residents/owners can buy the tiny houses and lease the lots
  • This area of the village is designed for long-term residents
  • Units are not on sale yet, but you can register to be the first to know (link below)

Learn more

Related Posts

Our big thanks to Dan at ESCAPE for sharing!🙏

You can share this using the e-mail and social media re-share buttons below. Thanks!

If you enjoyed this you’ll LOVE our Free Daily Tiny House Newsletter with even more!

You can also join our Small House Newsletter!

Also, try our Tiny Houses For Sale Newsletter! Thank you!

More Like This: Tiny Houses | Builders | Communities | News | Modern Tiny Houses | THOWs | Tiny House Real Estate | Tiny Houses For Sale

See The Latest: Go Back Home to See Our Latest Tiny Houses

The following two tabs change content below.
Avatar

Alex

Alex is a contributor and editor for TinyHouseTalk.com and the always free Tiny House Newsletter. He has a passion for exploring and sharing tiny homes (from yurts and RVs to tiny cabins and cottages) and inspiring simple living stories. We invite you to send in your story and tiny home photos too so we can re-share and inspire others towards a simple life too. Thank you!
{ 12 comments… add one }
  • Avatar jerry dycus
    April 4, 2021, 11:19 am

    A great business model with good income doing these and creating lower cost housing.
    I’d go farther and supply RE power, water and sewage as a microgrid and independent of utilities, impact fees for them.
    Especially here in Florida.
    And find a way that the big bedroom window doesn’t face a street 10′ away.

  • Avatar RV NUT
    April 4, 2021, 1:22 pm

    This is a great accomplishment, I saw them when they didn’t have any tenants/owners just yet but the problem I have, and the reason why I didn’t buy is because I do not like these particular tiny houses. They are almost the same inside and out and they do not have any charm in my opinion. If this was a tiny home community with a diverse type of tiny homes I would consider buying.

    • Avatar Marcy
      April 5, 2021, 7:47 am

      I don’t like Escape homes, either. And I love the idea of the tiny home village, but not if people can’t have their own tiny home choice.

      • Avatar Melissa Robinson
        April 6, 2021, 4:37 pm

        I’m with you both! I am currently in Alachua County (Gainesville, FL). Our county council actually passed zoning for 3 separate tiny house villages in our county; however, this was approved back in 2018 but absolutely nothing has come from it yet.

        I really looked at the Tampa Village because I’m ready to buy a tiny house but I do not like any of the Escape models at all! The only reason I can think of that the builder of Tiny House Escape Tampa would basically use the same looking houses throughout the original community and now this new one is b/c that’s the only way the Hillsborough County council members would approve the zoning. I may be way off here but why else create a tiny house community that’s basically filled with identical looking homes? Also, the HOA rules at TH Escape Tampa are honestly quite strict including strict pet limitations, no smoking on any property within the village, and not much wiggle room for creative landscaping. These are just the ones that I know about but I’m imagine there are many more rules.

        I love the thought of living in a tiny house community but I want flexibility to make my own decisions on the exact house that fits my needs, a yard for me and my pets, plus the ability to choose whichever plant material I want that represents me.

        • Avatar RvNut
          April 6, 2021, 6:16 pm

          They suffer from the same cookie cutter-house syndrome as all of Central Florida – I am from here so I know and will not live in a cookie-cutter type home. Do you what is the next to move forward with the community in your County?

  • Avatar Eric
    April 4, 2021, 5:20 pm

    My issue is that they are all the same. Or nearly so. So visitors, especially, would get confused which home is which. Plus, the houses are all the same inside. Need to come up with a better business model in my opinion. A good concept but needs more work.

    • Avatar James D.
      April 5, 2021, 4:42 am

      Well, problem is it’s a common business model that has worked for decades and in some ways has been indoctrinated into how some people think of properties and that being different can be considered bad because it can lead to negative impact on property values, etc, which is one of the reasons HOA’s can be so restrictive and have so many rules that prevent diversity.

      While Tract/Cookie-Cutter housing is usually driven by cost and time efficiency to produce the most number of homes for the lowest cost. So it usually produces a lot of homes with very few to no variations and entire neighborhoods of basically identical houses.

      It’s more mixed income neighborhoods, which focus more of on the culture of a particular area, that’ll you’ll find any real diversity. Usually, referred to as Traditional Neighborhood Design (TND).

      The trend is moving towards more housing diversity, especially with tiny houses, but you’ll still see generic homes wherever cost and time efficiency is the primary concern and there’s still many who are developing Tiny Home communities that are basing them off existing norms in the housing market, which is partly driven because getting approval, etc. from the local authorities often drives it in that direction, along with the aforementioned HOA’s, etc… Similar to the reason it’s easier to convert an RV park into a Tiny Home village than to get them to just change the laws to give Tiny Homes the same recognition as other residential dwellings.

      But this will become increasingly rarer as, again, the trend is towards increased diversity and the barriers to Tiny Housing developments are getting fewer to allow more flexibility and options…

      Though, anything from Escape Homes may take awhile to get there because they primarily produce specific model series and while they can do custom, it’s not their primary business model and they usually focus on more minor range of options, with the main difference being on the interiors…

      Communities developed by other builders, though, can be far more diverse, especially, from the full custom builders or owner developed communities…

      • Avatar RvNut
        April 6, 2021, 6:32 pm

        I must say that I do appreciate some type of guidelines in order to create and preserve some sort of decency and aesthetics within the community without going overboard.

        Recently, I began looking on-line for established RV parks for sale that I could purchase to slowly turn it into a tiny home community. My search left me hopeful but a little disappointed as the prices are astronomical for most. I am not a rich man just yet (ha ha) so this would have to be with a loan, like minded people and lots of prayer. I am not giving up yet.

        • Avatar James D.
          April 7, 2021, 12:04 am

          You never know, some of the existing Tiny house communities happened because of good timing and finding deals on properties that were well below the normal range.

          However, keep in mind development and maintenance costs. RV Parks have to meet certain standards and development costs can be quite significant. So finding someone to partner with to handle any repairs and development needs can go a long way to making it a practical reality.

  • Avatar Pat Howard
    April 4, 2021, 9:51 pm

    How much is the rent for the lot and how much are the tiny houses??

    • Avatar Melissa Robinson
      April 6, 2021, 4:40 pm

      The tiny houses range in price but I believe the cheapest home that can be purchased in this particular community is $50,000 and go way up from there. One of their houses was over $100,000 to purchase. The lot rent also ranges but the cheapest that I’ve seen in this community is $450 a month and the most expensive was $650 a month.

  • Avatar Rosa Espinal
    April 4, 2021, 9:58 pm

    I agree with the comments above!

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Next post:

Older post: